It has taken me long enough, but I finally listened to Solange’s music. I regret that my subconscious mind unfairly dismissed her all these years as a lesser-known version of Beyonce. Solange is art. I became curious when her ‘Cranes in the Sky’ won a Grammy in for RnB this year. To be honest, I’d never really understood what constitutes RnB and when I listened to ‘Cranes in the Sky’ for the first time, I couldn’t understand its appeal nor could I appreciate the music video. However, going back to Solange’s works from a few years prior, suddenly her art clicked for me: Lovers in a Parking Lot (2013)¬†really did it for me. I really like the song’s apparent use of rhythmic beats and finally understood the meaning of RnB. Moreover, her funky and eclectic music video really resonates with me. In contrast to Beyonce’s artfully polished music videos, I find Solange’s music videos to be a more authentic expression. After going through her earlier works and gaining a better understanding her artistic style, I’ve also come to appreciate her recent works such as ‘Cranes in the Sky’. Her authenticity and individuality are what make her art.

Leave a Reply

